This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

Consiglio d Europa


Consiglio d Europa
Palais de l'Europe


The Council of Europe, based in the Palais de l’Europe in Strasbourg (France), is an intergovernmental organization that now covers virtually the entire European continent, with its 47 member countries.

Founded on 5 May 1949 by the Treaty of London by 10 countries (Belgium, France, Luxembourg, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Denmark, Norway, Ireland, Italy and Sweden), the Council of Europe seeks to develop throughout Europe common and democratic principles ensuring respect for its fundamental values: human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

On the basis of these fundamental values, the organization has successfully progressed in achieving its goals that have evolved in parallel with technological, scientific, political, social and economic progress: it has responded to major changes in Europe’s political and social landscape and to the emergence of new threats to the human rights of the European population.
Central to its mandate is the role of co-operation as a means of meeting the challenges of modern European society.

The Council of Europe deals with all the relevant issues for European society, with the exception of defence. Its work program includes, among others, the following areas: human rights, media, legal cooperation, social cohesion, health, education, culture, heritage, sport, youth, local democracy and cross-border cooperation, environment and country planning.

The Council of Europe’s wide range of initiatives often takes the form of conventions designed to bring member States’ laws into closer harmony with one another and with the Council’s standards. There are 200 at present; among these, the best known is the European Convention on Human Rights, which outlines the rights and freedoms that member States are obliged to guarantee to all individuals within their jurisdiction. These conventions are supplemented by the many resolutions and recommendations addressed to member States, which play a vital role in finding solutions to our common problems.

According to the Statute, the Council of Europe official languages are English and French.

The main organs of the Council of Europe are:

Agenda du Conseil de l'Europe: weekly, yearly.  

Do not get confused:

The Council of Europe and its 47 Member States, which aim is the promotion of human rights, democracy and the rule of law, should not be confused with the European Council, a regular meeting of the Heads of State or Government of the 27 Member States of the European Union.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, composed by 318 representatives appointed by the 47 Member States national Parliaments, should not be confused with the European Parliament which is composed by 736 European Members elected by universal suffrage in the 27 European Union Countries.

The European Court of Human Rights, based in Strasbourg to ensure that contracting States observe their obligations under the European Convention on Human Rights, should not be confused with the International Court of Justice, judicial body of the United Nations based in The Hague, and with the Court of Justice of the European Union, based in Luxembourg, which ensures compliance with the law in the interpretation and application of the European Union’s Treaties.